Committed to socialism

Granma | 24 August, 2016

During the celebration, FMC Secretary General in Holguín Roselia Taño Ricardo received the National Vanguard distinction on behalf of the territory. Photo: Lisandra Cardoso.

Holguín.— During the national act in honor of the 56th anniversary of the Federation of Cuban Women (FMC), the organization’s Secretary General, Teresa Amarelle Boué, expressed the FMC’s unwavering commitment to socialism and the leaders of the Cuban Revolution, Fidel and Raúl Castro.

Presiding over the ceremony held in the Plaza de la Revolución Mayor General Calixto García, in the provincial capital, Amarelle Boué, also a member of the Communist Party of Cuba Central Committee Political Bureau, recalled the unforgettable FMC founder Vilma Espín, quoting her words noting that without socialism Cuban women would not have achieved the position in society they enjoy today.
The FMC Secretary General also highlighted the work of the organization since its founding to date, in particular the rights won by Cuban women as a result of the political will of the government, efforts undertaken by the FMC and participation of women themselves, who decided to spearhead their own development.
During the ceremony, which saw the participation of Luis Torres Iribar, a member of the Party Central Committee and first secretary of the organization in Holguín, as well as other political representatives and territorial officials, Amarelle Boué noted that the organization is stronger and more united than ever, while also highlighting the notable participation of women in all aspects of the updating of Cuba’s economic model.
Meanwhile, FMC members from the province sent a gift to Fidel in the form of a collage of photos depicting various visits made by the leader of the Cuban Revolution to Holguín, in honor of his 90th birthday.
During the celebration, FMC Secretary General in Holguín Roselia Taño Ricardo, received the National Vanguard distinction on behalf of the territory, while her counterparts from Granma, Villa Clara, Ciego de Ávila and the Isle of Youth Special Municipality were also recognized for their outstanding work.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s